RSS Feed

Time for Testing

Posted on

Hi blog friends!

Nope, I haven’t forgotten about you. Life has just been busy. You too?

So, I haven’t been feeling well. The past month or so, a lot of my pre gluten-free symptoms were rearing their ugly heads along with some new ones – I’ll spare you the details. I have just plain felt awful. So, today I went back to my GI doctor to discuss my options. You might remember from my story post that I didn’t have the endoscopy to test for Celiac. I did the anti-body panel and bloodwork (which came back inconclusive), but because I had already gone gluten-free and was feeling better, I didn’t see the point in eating gluten again to have the test. The treatment for Celiac is gluten-free living, so as far as I was concerned, I didn’t need to know for sure. I’d just stick to gluten-free and feel better – Like I had been.

Fast-forward to the last month and how crummy I have been feeling. Low energy, some joint pain, headaches, tummy issues – I know something isn’t right. So, today I explored all my options with my doctor and we both agreed that more tests need to be done. While my DR originally thought I was Celiac based on my symptoms and the elimination of those symptoms by being gluten-free, today she told me she isn’t as confident. With so many of my symptoms returning, could it really be? Well, yes, it could be Celiac and it might be with something else going on. We just can’t know until they get a good look inside of me. So, first step is the endoscopy. As of right now, I am planning to start eating gluten again (gulp). My test is scheduled for 12 days from today, Friday October 28th. I have always preached the, “you must eat gluten for at least 3 weeks before testing” standard, but at this point – having not taken that first bite of gluten again – I am not sure I can last a full 3 weeks. The times I have glutened myself, I have been so miserable that 3 full weeks of that sounds torturous if not impossible. I have a life to live! So, I don’t really know how the next 2 weeks will go or if I’ll even be able to do it. What’s going to be REALLY weird is if I don’t have any issues (which seems very unlikely). They will be doing the biopsy to test for the Celiac, but also doing biopsies in my stomach as well. I’ll also be having a lower scope at some point. Jealous, right? 🙂

Beth watched my youngest today so I could go to my appointment and when I got back I asked her if she thinks I am going the right thing. She said yes. Then, I asked her what she would eat for her first gluten meal. Without hesitating, she said her favorite pizza place. 🙂 So, now I am trying to be hopeful and decide what I should eat that I have gone without for the past 11 months. What would you eat if you could have your favorite gluten containing food?

I might be posting updates over the next couple of weeks…please pray for me if you think of it. That I would be able to tolerate the gluten for the next 12 days and that the tests would give valuable info! Thanks!

So why am I testing

One response »

  1. Oh girl…I feel for you! I too never did conclusive testing, just felt better sans gluten. But…don’t feel good often enough that I wonder what else is going on. My hubby thinks dairy and sugar (the horror). Dairy is so common with Celiac but have been without it for 2.5 years so you would think I’d be able to tolerate it by now. I do use it with cooked foods but whenever I have milk solo (like in cereal) I feel cruddy. I’m contemplating challenging myself too but even if not Celiac adding something back into your diet having been without will upset your tummy. I wish you luck and DO keep us posted. MY VOTE IS PIZZA TOO!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

