RSS Feed

Lemon Raspberry Muffins – From Beth

Posted on

One year ago, Katie’s and my friend, Shea, delivered her third beautiful baby girl.  While I visited with her at the hospital, she mentioned that she was hungry and her husband offered to get her something from the hospital cafe.  He suggested several possibilities to her, among them different kinds of muffins.  I know, MUFFINS!  One of the kinds of muffins he mentioned was lemon-raspberry.  That was it!  My mind was fixated on the thought of lemon-raspberry muffins.  I had never had one before, in fact, I’d never even heard of that combination but the idea immediately captivated me.  So, after I got home, I set about creating a recipe for them.  I started with a lemon-poppyseed recipe from Gluten-Free Baking Classics, and tweaked and adjusted it to my tastes.  It is now my favorite muffin and, I have to add, my daughter who is not gluten-free is jealous of those muffins.  The gluten-free products in our home are reserved for Matthew and I, due to the cost and labor involved in keeping us supplied with food.  So, every now and then, I have to make up a batch of non-gluten-free muffins for her.

When I make these, I use frozen raspberries, because I found that fresh ones were to delicate to stir into the batter without breaking them to pieces.  Even with frozen ones, you have to be careful to stir gently so you don’t just end up with pink batter.

I hope you enjoy these as much as we do.  And happy birthday, Baby “A-B”!

Lemon-Raspberry Muffins

2 Cups Brown Rice Flour Mix
2 tsp. baking powder
¾ tsp. xanthan gum
½ tsp. salt
2 Tbsp. grated lemon peel (I use what I can get from one good-sized lemon)
1 Cup sugar
½ Cup + 2 Tbsp. canola oil
3 large eggs
1 tsp. lemon extract
¾ Cup milk
2 Cups frozen raspberries

Glaze:
1 Cup powdered sugar
Juice of one lemon

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray muffin tin with non-stick spray.
  2. Mix flour, baking powder, xanthan gum, salt, and lemon rind in bowl.
  3. In mixing bowl, combine sugar, oil, eggs, lemon extract then add milk.  Beat for 1 minute.  Add flour mixture to bowl and mix until blended.  Fold in raspberries by hand, just until mixed through batter.
  4. Divide batter between muffin cups and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean and muffins are slightly browned. With frozen berries, it could take a little longer.
  5. Remove from oven and allow to cool in tins.
  6. Mix powdered sugar and lemon juice and drizzle over muffins.  I allow the glaze to set, then wrap muffins individually in plastic wrap and place in a freezer bag in the freezer.
Leave a Reply

