RSS Feed

Lemon Coconut and Banana Nut Muffins

Posted on

I owe you some recipes!

Remember this?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
I just enjoyed a delicious banana muffin for breakfast. Ok, it was two, but they are small. I didn’t do the 1 1/2 recipe like Beth talked about.

This past Saturday, I had some bananas that were screaming to be made into muffins. I’d been wanting to stock up my freezer with some baked goods, so I flipped open Gluten Free Baking Classics by Annalise Roberts ((Hi Annalise!) <—I’ll explain that later! :)), to make banana nut muffins – sans the nuts. The recipe happens to be on the page next to the lemon coconut muffins. Have you ever had a lemon coconut muffin? I had never, nor had I ever heard of the combination. I looked over the recipe and discovered I had all the ingredients. The basic recipe is identical for the two flavors so I decided to mix up both. It was rainy, my freezer was void of yummy baked goods and I was in the mood to bake, so why not?

It was easy to mix up both recipes at the same time and I had both in the oven with only a few minutes added onto the time it would have taken me just to do the banana. Score!

I’ve made the banana muffins quite a few times, so I know they are a family favorite. I love how light and cakey they are. They get that perfectly delicious “gooey” top like my Mom’s banana bread recipe does. That’s my favorite part! My oldest ate one as soon as they cooled enough and while her mouth was still full from her last bite, looked at me and said, “Can I have another one?”

The lemon coconut muffins smelled wonderful and I was tapping my toes as they cooled enough to dig in. They are really good! I love the texture the coconut gives and I like that the lemon flavor is there, but to me, allows the coconut to be the star. Hubby and I did decide that if you wanted to give these a more dessert like twist, a lemon glaze topped with some toasted coconut would be awesome!

Lemon Coconut Muffins

2 cups Brown Rice Flour Mix
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup sweetened flaked coconut
1 packed tablespoon grated lemon rind
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup canola oil
2 large eggs

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Position rack in center of oven. Grease muffin pan with cooking spray.
  2. Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, xanthan gum, and salt in large mixing bowl. Add coconut and lemon rind and stir to combine.
  3. Combine milk and oil in small bowl; remove 1 tablespoon of combined liquid and discard it. Beat in eggs. Add liquids to flour mixture and stir until just blended.
  4. Fill muffin pans 2/3 full. Sprinkle top with granulated sugar. Bake 18-25 minutes until light and golden. Remove from pan and serve immediately.

Makes 12 muffins. Muffins can be store in an air-tight container in refrigerator or covered with plastic wrap and then with foil and stored in freezer for up to 3 weeks. Best when eaten within 3 days of baking. Rewarm briefly in microwave.

Banana Nut Muffins

2 cups Brown Rice Flour Mix
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 packed cup very ripe chopped bananas (about 2 medium bananas)
1/2 cup chopped walnuts, optional
2 large eggs
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup canola oil
**I add a teaspoon of vanilla

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Position rack in center of oven. Grease muffin pan with cooking spray (or three 5X3 inch loaf pans).
  2. Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, xanthan gum, salt and cinnamon in large mixing bowl. Add bananas and walnuts; stir to coat evenly.
  3. Combine milk and oil in small bowl; remove 1 tablespoon of combined liquid and discard it. Beat in eggs. Add liquids to banana mixture and stir until just blended.
  4. Fill muffin pans 2/3 full. Bake 18-25 minutes until golden brown (35-44 minutes for loaf pan). Remove from pan and serve immediately or cool on a rack. (**I like to sprinkle with a cinnamon and sugar mixture)

Makes 12 muffins or 3 5X3-inch loaves. Muffins and bread can be store in an air-tight container in refrigerator or covered with plastic wrap and then with foil and stored in freezer for up to 3 weeks. Best when eaten within 3 days of baking. Rewarm briefly in microwave.

Leave a Reply

