RSS Feed

Quick and Easy Caprese Chicken

Posted on

I love quick and easy suppers. I love them even more when they turn out and taste like I spent a lot of time on it!

Last night’s supper tasted like summer on a plate and was healthy and satisfying. It’s was pretty too, see?

 

 

 

 

 

 
Not much of a recipe to share with you, but I can tell you what we ate and what I did.

The boneless, skinless chicken breasts I marinated in Kraft’s Zesty Italian dressing for a couple of hours. I know, not the most natural or high quality choice here, but this was supposed to be quick and easy. I typically would have had hubs put the chicken on the grill, but to get a little practice with my new pan, we skipped the grill. Once the chicken was cooked through, I topped each piece with Italian blend shredded cheese. A true caprese salad or dish would have fresh mozzarella, but I had the Italian blend on hand, so that’s what I used. I put the pan under the broiler for a few minutes to get the cheese nicely melted (could just cover your pan with a lid for a minute or two) and when it was melted, topped with a chiffonade of basil and sliced cherry tomatoes. The basil and tomatoes came fresh from our garden – yum! So, that’s the chicken – pretty easy.

I served the chicken with mashed potatoes. Just use your favorite mashed potatoes, but for ours, I cooked the potatoes in milk and added a smashed clove of garlic and a good pinch of kosher salt. I used the cooking milk for the liquid and added some butter and a handful of the italian cheese. Lots of black pepper and you have some tasty mashed potatoes!

Serve with a green salad topped with your favorite toppings. We love spinach salad with red pepper, red onion, cucumbers and feta cheese. I dressed the salad with the same Zesty Italian dressing I used on the chicken (again, not my favorite, but what I had) and lots of freshly cracked black pepper.

Fresh, tasty and overall pretty low in calories I think, which was good because we had these for dessert.

Give it a try!

One response »

  1. Basil and tomatoes from your garden? Go Katie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

