RSS Feed

I’m Back!

Posted on

So, I am not a very good blogger. A good blogger would have had posts pre-written, or guest posts, or SOMETHING on her blog while she was on vacation. A good blogger, at the very least, would have said she was going to be on vacation and to look for new posts in a week. Sorry – I didn’t do any of that!

Yes, we were on vacation. More specifically, we had a stay-cation. We were home, but had plenty of fun taking day trips and just spending time together. It was wonderful. Can you believe summer is almost over? I can’t. I am not sure I am ready for all the routine and hustle and bustle of the school year. Thankfully, we still have the rest of this month to play and I hope we make the most of it!

I thought a lot about the blog and you while I was on vacation. I had things I wanted to write about, recipes I wanted to share. My hubby even said at one point, “this would make a great blog post”. I got to think quite a bit about the blog. It’s only been two short months since the blog launched, but it seems longer somehow. I spent a lot of time preparing for the blog to “go live”. I really built it all upon the idea of helping others and being a resource for other gluten free people. I think I approached it as more of an organization – a structured, almost formal resource. And, let’s be real, it’s just little old me, talking about what I had for dinner and what I’ve learned along my gluten free journey. Not much of an organization, eh?

So, as I thought about the blog, I feel like it needs to relax a bit. Do you feel that way? How is the site and what I am sharing coming across? Do you find things helpful? Do you want “just business” or do you think of me as your blogging friend? I have a handful of blogs that I read about food, design, home improvement…I read them because I like what they are about, but also because I like the person writing them. Have I ever met them? Nope. But, you kind of get a feel about who they are based on what they write about and how they write. Isn’t that the beauty of a blog?

The conclusion I have come to is that I need to let this blog grow and morph into what it’s going to be and not put myself into a box. I’ve struggled to write posts at time because I feel like I need to have some mind-blowing topic or well drawn out recipe to share (ok, so none of my posts fall into either of those categories, but you catch my drift, right?), but I am going to let that go. It’s ok if I post quickly that I have tried the new gluten free Rice KrispiesΒ (I have by the way – more on that later) and call it a day. So, here’s me loosening up. (shaking shoulders and rolling neck around). Can anyone here say Type A? πŸ™‚

I hope everyone had a great week last week and that you’ll keep reading and walking the gluten free path with me!

7 responses »

  1. I love reading your blogs! They are honest, informative, and informal. It feels like you are talking to girlfriends. That is exactly the way the way that I think that blogs should be! Don’t change a thing!! πŸ™‚

    P.S. I love that you are local, so I know exactly what stores you are talking about to get what I need. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thanks Daneen! I am glad you like the site! Are you gluten free? Thanks for leaving a comment. It’s so nice to know someone’s there! πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • WOW! I didn’t realize that I didn’t reply. LOL I am so scatterbrained! πŸ™‚ Yeah, I am g-free and loving it! I didn’t realize what I was missing out on life all of those years. I absolutely love your blog. My husband loves to cook and he was the one that made most of the meals, but he is living in Chicago going to grad school….so I am left to the cooking now. I was getting pretty sick of cooking the same, simple things. I love your recipes as they are so easy to follow. And, it’s like one-stop-shopping. I can get Coconut Rain through you, too! πŸ™‚

  2. Well, I read your blog because it’s you, not because of the subject matter. πŸ™‚ But since I’m not trying to be GF, then my opinion doesn’t matter very much! I think you’re doing great, but I do agree that a personal touch on even topic-specific blogs is very much a good thing. And relaxing is a good thing too. I aim to be an A-… there’s no way I’ll ever loose the type A completely, but giving myself a minus makes me feel more… human. Or something.

    Reply
  3. Shea (that's my handsome hubby in the picture :)

    I read the blog because I LOVE the blogger!!! And those lemon cupcakes make me drool.

    Reply
  4. Jennifer Randall

    Great post, Katie! Love the transparency.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

