RSS Feed

Breaking Out of A Rut

Posted on

I’m in a rut with food. I’ve somehow lost the excitement and creativity I usually have when it comes to meal planning and choosing recipes. We’ve been really busy, which makes spending a lot of time in the kitchen tricky, but I also haven’t been feeling that great. Like I shared in an earlier post, I’ve accidentally glutened myself a couple of times which triggered a few days of feeling crummy. But, this crummy feeling has been hanging around, so I need to do a good review of what I have been eating to see if I’ve snuck something with gluten into my diet without realizing it.

I sat down this morning and searched through the gluten free recipes on Gina’s Skinny Recipes and came up with a few that I think we’ll be trying this week. Here are a couple of links to two I am excited to try:

Pork Chops with Mushrooms and Shallots

Western Omelet Potato Skins

I’m trying to focus on well-rounded meals with a lot of fresh and healthy produce, in hopes that feeding my body really good food will help me feel better. I’m planning a lot of in season veggie side dishes and fruit to go with our meals. I also need to do a much better job planning out my lunches and snacks. I’ve been short on good choices for me to snack on and I am sure that is contributing to my less than stellar energy level and yucky feeling.

So – eat well this week! Take the time to plan some delicious, good for you meals and nourish your body! I’ll let you know how the pork chops and potato skins turn out!

2 responses »

  1. Boy, I feel your pain. And I mean more than empathizing. I got off track on vacation, and haven’t got it back together yet. So I, too, have been feeling crummy. I need a “re-boot.” This week my grandson (2) was tested for allergies. Poor baby– 5 panel test. In the food line, he is allergic to corn, oats and shrimp. I have new motivation to explore recipes for his needs, and mine. Hope you are feeling better very soon.

    Reply
    • Hi Mary! So sorry you’ve been feeling crummy too! I hope you get back on track and feeling better soon. Vacations are tough! So sorry to hear about your grandson! Corn is really hard because it’s in so much with corn syrup, etc. I really hope your family can find some really helpful resources for his allergies to make it as easy on you as possible. Have a great day!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

