RSS Feed

Rhubarb Pie

Posted on
Rhubarb Pie

I couldn’t help it. I made another pie.

Our dear friends gave us some rhubarb over the weekend and all I could think about was rhubarb pie – the one that my Mom makes; the one that her Mom made; and probably the one that her Mom made. My brother and I, when we were little, always called rhubarb pie “Candy Pie” and I get it. Colorful, sweet and tart – just plain delicious. My Mom and I decided that the filling should work just fine substituting cornstarch for the flour to make a gluten free version. (By the way, when converting flour to cornstarch, the ratio is 1 tablespoon cornstarch to 2 tablespoons flour.) And, we were right! If you haven’t had a rhubarb pie, you’re really missing out. Our family recipe is more of a custard version – rhubarb with a creamy, sugary egg filling. The flaky, buttery crust with the sweet and tart filling – it just tastes like summer! If you want to mix it up a bit, toss in some strawberries for another popular version.

I love to photograph food and recipes as I make them. I’m no Pioneer Woman and her food photography, but I enjoy it and it makes the recipes come alive. The photos I am about to share come courtesy of my hubby because it does add a lot of time to actually getting the food made when I take the photos myself. So, I enlisted his help and thankfully, he’s usually happy to “play” with me in the kitchen. 🙂

So, without further ado, here are the recipes for the pie crust I shared last week and for rhubarb pie via pictures and then typed out for your enjoyment.

 

 

 

 

 

 
The pie crust ingredients: Brown Rice flour mix, Sweet Rice flour, sugar, xanthan gum, salt, an egg, butter, orange juice.

 

 

 

 

 

 
Combine the dry ingredients in the mixer, and mix until combined. Add butter until it resembles a course meal.

 

 

 

 

 

 
Add in the egg and orange juice and mix at a low speed until the dough comes together. It shouldn’t be sticky. Form the dough into a ball and place on wax paper. (This smells SO good!)

 

 

 

 

 

 
Roll out the dough between two pieces of wax paper. (ok, this makes it SOOO easy to put it into your pie plate! Love!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
See? Just take off the top piece of wax paper and flip the rolled out dough onto your pie plate. Peel the other piece back and then style the edges however you like. (If your dough has gotten a bit warm, you might refrigerate it for a few minutes before doing this step because it can stick to the wax paper.

 

 

 

 

 

 
Don’t look too closely at my edges – I’m not very good at making them pretty or uniform. I poked the bottom a couple times and then pre-baked it for about 10 minutes like the fruit pie recipe states.

While this was baking, I made another batch of dough. I still haven’t decided if I should just double the recipe for the crust or if it should be made twice. Time-wise, I would LOVE to just double the recipe. Anyone out there know if it works out just as well to just double it? I sure with the cookbook had advice on that! I also stirred up the pie filling…

 

 

 

 

 

 
Very low maintenance as far as ingredients go: Rhubarb, sugar, cornstarch, eggs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Beat the eggs until they are pale.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Add in the sugar and the cornstarch.

 

 

 

 

 

 
Beat until smooth and creamy.

 

 

 

 

 

 
Gently stir in the rhubarb.

 

 

 

 

 
Pour into pre-baked crust.

 

 

 

 

 

 
Top with second pie crust. Vent top crust with small slits and sprinkle with sugar (I forgot to do this – woops!)

 

 

 

 

 

 
Ta-da! Beauty, ain’t she? 😉

 

 

 

 

 
Don’t ask me how many pieces I ate after it was ready. I did enjoy this first piece with a nice hot cup of coffee. YUM!

So, those are the recipes via picture and now here are the written recipes. Please let me know if you give anything a try!

Traditional Pie Crust
*From Gluten Free Baking Classics 

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons Brown Rice Flour Mix
2 tablespoons sweet rice flour
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons cold unsalted butter (not margarine) cut into 6 pieces
1 large egg
2 teaspoons orange juice or lemon juice (I used orange)

  1. Spray 9-inch pie plate with cooking spray and dust with rice flour (I used the sweet rice flour).
  2. Mix flours, sugar, xanthan gum, and salt in large bowl of electric mixer. Add butter and mix until crumbly and resembling course meal.
  3. Add egg and orange juice. mix on low speed until dough ball holds together; it should not be sticky. Form dough into a ball, using your hands, and place on a sheet of wax paper. Top with a second sheet of wax paper and flatten dough to 1 inch thickness. (You can freeze the dough like this for up to one month; wrap in plastic wrap and then use foil as an outer wrap)
  4. Roll out dough between the 2 sheets of wax paper. If dough seems tacky, refrigerate for 15 minutes before proceeding. Remove top sheet of wax paper and invert dough into pie pan. Remove remaining sheet of wax paper, and crimp edges for single-crust pie.

To partially bake a bottom pie crust (for fruit filled pies like Cherry or Blueberry)

Preheat oven to 375. Bake pastry for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and fill and bake per recipe.

Rhubarb Pie

2 recipes Traditional Pie Crust (1 partially pre-baked, one for top of pie)
2 eggs
1 1/2 cup sugar
2 Tbls cornstarch
3 cups Rhubarb, cleaned and chopped

  1. Beat eggs until pale
  2. Add in sugar and cornstarch and beat until smooth
  3. Fold in rhubarb
  4. Fill pre-baked crust with filling
  5. Top pie with second pie crust and sprinkle with sugar

Bake at 425 for 20 minutes, then lower oven to 375 and bake for another 30 minutes.

*Sorry about some layout issues with the photos and text. I am having so much trouble with formatting photos in my posts. Anyone use WordPress and have any tips?

7 responses »

  1. I wish I liked rhubarb! This looks delish! As for the crust, I always make both at once when making a double crust pie. Good job Katie!

    Reply
    • Hi Amy! I have had trouble doubling some of my gluten free recipes, so I am not sure what to do….I’ll probably try it next time just b/c it’s so much work to make it twice! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Mary VanOeveren

    Katie…..I think I should have been there to help you eat it!!~!!!

    Reply
  3. I did get to taste this…simply wonderful!!!! I was looking for more:). Thanks Katie! And thank you for sharing this great recipe…this gluten-free girl has REALLY missed her pies.

    Reply
  4. I wonder if you could substitute blueberries for the rhubarb. Does Walmart carry the rice flours and xanthan gum (there is no Meijer here), or do I need to find it at a health food store? Also, is there a substitute for corn starch so I could share this with my grandson who is allergic to corn? I have heard of using tapioca as a thickener, but have no experience. I’m excited to try it out. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply
    • Hi Mary! I posted a recipe for blueberry pie a few posts before the rhubarb. But, if you’re thinking about substituting to get the custard-type filling, then I do think it would work. I don’t know if Wal-mart carries the specialty flours or starches. I have tapioca starch and my first response would be that it would work. But, i am not aware of the ratio to substitute tapioca to cornstarch. You could probably google “substituting tapioca starch for cornstarch”. For the rhubarb, I knew it was half the amount of cornstarch to flour in the original recipe. So, it might be a good idea to see how much tapioca you would substitute to 4 tablespoons of flour like the original recipe calls for. Make sense?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

