RSS Feed

Blueberry Muffins – From Beth

Posted on

It’s blueberry season here in southwest Michigan. If you don’t live here, or some other place where blueberries are grown, you can’t imagine how big blueberries can be and how wonderful it is to be able to pick or buy fresh ones. Every summer, I buy 30-40 pounds of them, rinse them and let them dry, and then freeze them in quart-size baggies. This is one of the reasons I have a large chest freezer as well as two refrigerator/freezers. Canning produce isn’t something I’ve ever done, but I do freeze some fruits. My family goes through a lot of blueberries and strawberries (which we also freeze) throughout the year. We, and by we, I mean (usually) me, make blueberry cobbler, put blueberries and strawberries on Belgian waffles, but mostly, I make loads of blueberry muffins. It’s the first kind of muffin I started making when I went GF and is still one of our favorites. Some other time I’ll tell you the “muffin story” but for now, I’ll just share my recipe for blueberry muffins. If you can get a hold of fresh blueberries, I would highly recommend it. After eating and cooking with local berries, it’s hard to go back to the frozen ones you can buy in the store. They’re so puny!

I should start by saying here that the basis for this recipe comes from “Gluten-Free Baking Classics” by Annalise Roberts, but I have tweaked it to my tastes. When I refer to the “brown rice flour mix”, it is the same one that Katie has mentioned before. I REALLY believe in using the superfine ground brown rice flour that is made by Authentic Foods. The texture of the baked goods is just like non-GF products, not grainy like most rice flours are.

Blueberry Muffins

2 cups brown rice flour mix
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1 TBSP baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
¾ tsp xanthan gum
¼ tsp salt
1 ½ cups fresh or frozen blueberries (I use frozen right from the freezer since I wash them before freezing. It takes a bit longer for baking but when stirring them in, they don’t mush up in this very thick batter.)
½ cup milk
½ cup + 2 TBSP canola oil
2 large eggs
½ tsp pure vanilla extract

Streusel topping:
½ cup brown rice flour mix
½ cup brown sugar
½ tsp cinnamon
3-4 TBSP melted butter

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Spray muffin tins with non-stick spray.
  2. Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, xanthan gum, and salt in mixing bowl.
  3. Add in milk, oil, eggs and vanilla and mix until blended.  Batter will be very thick.
  4. Stir in blueberries.
  5. Fill muffin tins 2/3 full.
  6. For streusel topping, mix ½ cup flour mix, brown sugar, and cinnamon.  Stir in melted butter and sprinkle over batter in muffin tins.  I like to press the streusel into the batter a bit so that after baking, it doesn’t flake off.
  7. Bake 18-25 minutes (longer if using frozen berries).  Test with toothpick to see if centers are done.
  8. Cool in pans then remove to cooling rack.
Leave a Reply

