RSS Feed

Cilantro Lime Shrimp

Posted on

I’ve really been enjoying lunchtime this summer. I am blessed to be home each day with my kids and it gives me the flexibility to have fun with my lunch. I haven’t baked bread in over a month, so sandwiches haven’t been on the menu. I have enjoyed a few wraps made with gluten free corn tortillas which are always tasty. Once day last week I decided shrimp sounded really yummy, so I put together a lunch dish with a Mexican twist that totally hit the spot.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Sorry, I quickly snapped this picture with my phone before digging in. Not the prettiest plate I have put together, but it sure did taste good! I enjoyed the shrimp with a ripe avocado, fresh salsa and the thin, Cantina chips by On The Border. (LOVE, that these chips are gluten free – they have always been my favorite!) The shrimp took longer to defrost and clean than it did to marinate and cook them. I love keeping shrimp in the freezer. It’s so easy to toss them in pasta or rice dishes and bring a whole new level of flavor!

I am going to share the shrimp recipe with you, but this is another occasion where I just threw the ingredients together without measuring, so I am going to do my best to break it down for you. Use your judgement for your tastebuds – less heat, more lime, etc – and have fun with it. The shrimp I used were 51-60 count per pound.

Cilantro Lime Shrimp

8-10 uncooked shrimp, defrosted, peeled and deveined

Marinade:
2-3 Tbls Olive Oil
Juice from 1 lime
1 Tbls fresh cilantro
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
Kosher salt

Marinade prepared shrimp for approximately 15 minutes. Sautee shrimp until pink and no longer translucent.

Leave a Reply

