RSS Feed

BLT Lettuce Wraps

Posted on

BLTs are a summer tradition in our house. Big, plump, and juicy tomatoes – hopefully from our garden!, crisp lettuce and peppered bacon. Of course this year, I needed something to put my B, L, and T in! I saw this recipe for BLT Lettuce Wraps and knew I had to try it!

I got the idea and recipe from Gina’s Skinny Recipes, one of my new favorite food blogs. Gina’s blog isn’t exclusively gluten free, but she has a gluten free category and her food looks delicious. I recommend you click on over and take a look!

These lettuce wraps were simple, quick and tasty. They would make a great lunch if you had the B, L and T on hand! Gina gives a great step by step run down of the recipe here. But, they are as easy as tossing the ingredients into a large lettuce leaf of your choice and you’re done!

What you’ll need:
Bacon
Tomato
Lettuce – Gina shredded some for filling and of course kept some whole for the wrap
Mayonnaise or Miracle Whip (we’re a Miracle Whip family here)
Salt and Pepper

Dice up your tomato and mix with the Miracle Whip and salt and pepper. Place some shredded lettuce on a lettuce leaf; top with tomato mixture; top with bacon – either whole strips or you can chop it up; wrap it up and enjoy! A reader commented on Gina’s post and said she was going to add avocado to her wrap. Yum! I will be doing that sometime.

A few tips – be sure that your lettuce is totally dry. Mine wasn’t and it was a bit runny and watery. Also, if your tomatoes are exceptionally watery, you might want to take some of the seeds and water out before mixing with the salad dressing.

I didn’t add shredded lettuce to my wrap and I wil next time. It needed a bit more “meat” to it. All in all, it was tasty, refreshing and a nice alternative to traditional BLTs. I’ll be making BLTs again this summer when I have bread baked, because I don’t think I can go the entire summer without the toasted version. 🙂

Leave a Reply

