RSS Feed

Brownies

Posted on

I love brownies. Love, love, love. I love brownie sundaes. I love little mini brownies with cherries and whip cream. I love brownies IN ice cream (try it at Coldstone sometime if you are reading this and aren’t gluten free). Brownies are my friend. Well, now gluten free brownies are my friend.

Let me tell you a little story about me and brownies made from scratch. We don’t get along. For a friend’s baby shower, I was baking her a brownie “cake”. She doesn’t love cake, but loves brownies, so I was going to bake a pan of brownies and decorate them like a traditional cake. Well, I wanted to make them special for her, so I decided to make them from scratch. Scratch has to be better than a box mix, right? I kid you not, I made three – three – recipes of scratch brownies. None of them worked out. They were just plain awful. So recognizing my defeat, I resorted to a box mix, and they were delicious. And, they were still special. 🙂

Remembering my experience with scratch brownies, I didn’t really know what to expect when I stirred up scratch, gluten free brownies for a chocolate fix last night. Aside from having to restock my brown rice flour mix before starting, the recipe came together really quickly and easily. My kind of recipe!

I was thrilled when not only did the brownies turn out, they were delicious! My hubby and girls loved them too. I believe my hubby’s exact words were, “This might be the best brownie I have ever had”. Success! I just have to chuckle because this isn’t the first recipe or type of baked good that failed miserably for me with traditional all-purpose flour and has been a total success gluten free. I have no explanation for that!

You really must make these brownies. They have the perfect blend of chocolate flavor, chewy bite and gooey, fudgey center. Hubby and I both love the sugary crust they had on the top when they came our of the oven. Today, after being in the refrigerator all night, they are very fudgey and dense – and perfect. 🙂 I can’t wait to use this recipe as a base for all the brownie treats we enjoy.

If you love brownies – make these as soon as possible. You won’t be sorry!

Brownies
From Gluten Free Baking Classics, by Annalise Roberts

2/3 cup Brown Rice Flour Mix
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
2 ozs. unsweetened chocolate*
4 ozs. semisweet chocolate*
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
3 large eggs
3/4 cup chopped toasted walnuts, optional

1. Preheat oven to 375. Position rack in lower-middle oven. Line bottom and sides of 8-inch square baking pan with foil and grease with cooking spray.
2. Combine flour, salt, baking powder, and xanthan gum in small bowl. Set aside.
3. Melt chocolate and butter in a heavy, medium size saucepan over low heat**. Remove from heat; whisk in sugar and vanilla. Whisk in eggs, one at a time, and continue to whisk until mixture is completely smooth and glossy. Add flour mixture and whisk until just incorporated. Stir in nuts if including.
4. Pour batter into prepared pan and place in center of oven. Bake about 45 minutes or until a tester inserted into center comes out with wet crumbs. Cool in pan on rack for 5 minutes. Remove brownies from pan by lifting out foil, and cool completely on rack. Cut into triangles or squares.

*I didn’t use a mixture of chocolate. I had 6 ozs. of semisweet in the house, so that’s what I used.
**I melted the chocolate and butter in the microwave, slowly and at about 50% power.

2 responses »

  1. My husband Tony recently told me he’d like to go gluten free to see how it benefits his work outs. (he has been training for a triathlon)
    So i (with a love of cooking) am ready to explore this road.. What cook books would you recommend?
    Ready for adventure in AR
    Rochelle

    Reply
    • Hi Rochelle!
      Whenever I hear of someone getting started gluten free, my head spins and I feel like I could talk to that person for HOURS. I want everyone to be successful and I feel like I want to tell them everything I know. 🙂 With that being said, I’ll tell you my favorite cookbook and maybe you can learn some other info by looking at my site.
      I highly recommend Gluten Free Baking Classics by Annelise Roberts. I love this cookbook because it is built off of really great flour mixes (which she goes over in the cookbook) and every recipe I have tried has been amazing. I recommend the submarine sandwich bread recipe for bread. A quick note about gluten free breads – they aren’t your typical bread dough. Think cake batter vs. bread dough when it comes to consistency. No kneading…
      I would do a lot of reading online – glutenfreegirl.com will be interesting.
      Hope this helps. Let me know if you have any other questions or want help with anything specific!
      Katie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

