RSS Feed

Uh-oh, what’s for breakfast?

Posted on

I woke up this morning and realized I basically had nothing to eat for breakfast – at least as breakfast foods are concerned. No cereal, out of my favorite pancake mix (I’ll share that soon!), nothing in the freezer. Don’t you hate it when this happens? So, I grabbed Gluten Free Baking Classics to see what I could find for a relatively quick breakfast solution. I discovered I had everything I needed to make a batch of Pumpkin Muffins. Pumpkin – not exactly a Spring/Summer flavor, but I’ll admit, it sounded good. So, pumpkin muffins it was…

It took me about 20 minutes to mix together the batter – I wasn’t quite at full-speed for the day yet. Anyone else need a good cup of coffee before feeling at full speed? This girl does. Anyways, they came together nicely and the house smelled wonderful. As I have found with all the recipes I have made from this cookbook, I’d dare someone to tell me they could tell they were gluten free! Moist, perfect texture and delicious flavor. My oldest cutie snarfed one down as fast as she could and asked for more. 🙂 I did make slight changes to the recipe, which I will note below.

Once you have a little practice of gluten free baking under your belt, whipping up a batch of something when you’re hungry and have nothing to eat will be quick and easy. And, now I have muffins to put in the freezer for more mornings or a snack. woo-hoo!

Pumpkin Muffins

  • 1 3/4 cups Brown Rice Flour Mix
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger (I didn’t add this b/c I didn’t have any!)
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup plus 2 Tbls canola oil (I added about 1 Tbls more oil)
  • 2 tablespoons molasses (I used honey b/c that’s what I had)
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Position rack in center of oven. Spray muffin pan with cooking spray.
  2. Mix flour, sugar, baking soda, xanthan gum, salt, baking powder, and spices together in large mixing bowl.
  3. Combine eggs, water, oil, molasses (or honey), and pumpkin in separate bowl. Whisk to blend.
  4. Pour wet ingredients into dry and mix until blended. Do not over beat.
  5. Pour batter evenly in muffin pan and bake about 20-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. (Mine took about 20 minutes)
  6. Remove muffins from pan immediately and cool. Cool completely on rack before wrapping for storage.
Anyone else think these would be delicious with a dollop of cream cheese frosting on top for a sweet treat? YUM!
4 responses »

  1. Susan Quarandillo

    Hey Katie ~ I am going to shopping this week to buy the ingredients I need to make the pumpkin muffins. Does the grocery store carry brown rice flour or do I need to go to a health food store? Also what is xanthan gum and where do I find that? Can you tell I am new at this? LOL!

    Reply
    • Hi Susan. Your best bet is probably a health food store – especially for the brown rice flour. I have only ever used Authenic Foods brand – Superfine – and highly recommend it. You can pick up the potato starch and tapioca starch at the health food store too, although those are more likely to be at a normal grocer too. Xanthan gum acts as a binder like the gluten in traditional wheat flour does. It’s a powder (like baking powder) you add to help things hold together. It’s a big pricey, but you use it in very small amounts. I am excited for you to try gluten free. Zach and the girls have loved everything I have baked/made that is gluten free, so I’ll be curious to see what Shawn and your kids think! 🙂

      Reply
      • Susan, Thanks for asking about Xanthan. I didn’t know either. So Katie, when I’m back in Kalamazoo (week of July 4th) would you like to show me a few things at the health food store?

      • Hi Mary – sure! Let me know when you’ll be in town and we’ll see what we can work out!

Leave a Reply

