RSS Feed

Turkey Veggie Burgers and Grill-Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Posted on

I love it when I find foods I love that are naturally gluten free! And I love this time of year when produce is so available and so many things are in season. In an attempt to be healthier, I’ve replaced ground beef with ground turkey in a handful of recipes. I had never made turkey burgers before, but had some ground turkey and figured I’d give it a shot. Here is what I made…

Turkey Veggie Burger

  • Approx. 1/4 cup red bell pepper, diced small
  • 2 TBLS red onion, diced small
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 2 large sweet basil leaves (from my garden – yum!), rolled and then diced – there is a name for this which will come to me at some point…
  • 1/4 lb ground turkey (or however much you want to use to make a burger the size you want to eat) – mine was 99% lean
  • Freshly ground black pepper and kosher salt
  • Olive oil, for drizzling

I had a ton of veggies compared to the meat – just how I like it! I mixed all the veggies and meat together so it was all even (think meatloaf/meatball) and patted it out to a burger patty. I seasoned the outside with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper and then a good drizzle of olive oil to keep it from sticking to the grill. With 99% lean meat, I figured it was a risk. My hubby grilled it up perfectly, along with my Kinnikinnick hamburger bun which I lightly buttered and then tossed on the grill. Once it was cooked, I piled on some feta cheese and called it supper! 🙂

Roasted Sweet Potatoes

  • Medium sized sweet potato, washed and diced into medium size chunks
  • Olive Oil
  • Kosher salt

This is such an easy side dish to whip up and it’s so delicious and good for you! I dice up the sweet potato into medium size chunks. Once they are diced I lay them in a piece of aluminum foil in a shallow pile. Drizzle with the olive oil and sprinkle with kosher salt and then close up the foil so you have a foil “bag”. Toss it on the grill! How long depends on how many potatoes you are cooking and how large/small you cut the pieces. Could be about 8-12 minutes – check them at about 8 minutes. Also, if you frown at any blackness or grilled marks on your potatoes, you’ll want to toss them around while they are cooking. The pieces that lay on the very bottom can get more brown on them than the other. I personally love those bites. 🙂

YUMMY and healthy! My favorite combination!

2 responses »

  1. CHIFFONADE! Sounds delicious!

    Reply

Leave a comment