RSS Feed

What I Use: All Purpose Flour Mix

Posted on

The all-purpose flour mix that I use on a day-to-day basis for baked goods is from my favorite baking cookbook – Gluten Free Baking Classics by Annalise Roberts. I love this cookbook. It’s full of go-to baking classics (hence the name) and everything I’ve made from it has been delicious. But, that’s for another post or two. For now, here is my go-to AP flour mix:

Brown Rice Flour Mix

  • 2 parts Superfine Brown Rice Flour – I only use Authentic Foods brand
  • 2/3 part Potato Starch
  • 1/3 part Tapioca Starch

I keep a pre-mixed container on hand with a total of 9 cups of mix. I give it a good shake before each use to be sure all three ingredients are thoroughly mixed. Because most of my baking recipes are from the Gluten Free Baking Classics cookbook, keeping it mixed like this works for me right now. If I pick up a few other cookbooks that I find I like and they require different mixes, I might keep my flours differently. But for now, this is what I do.

For a 9 cup “batch” of mix the breakdown is:
6 cups Superfine Brown Rice Flour
2 cups Potato Starch (not flour)
1 cup Tapioca Flour

*Note, if you are in the Kalamazoo/Portage area, the only store that carries the Authentic Foods brand of Superfine Brown Rice Flour is Natural Health Center on West Main!

Leave a Reply

